Do you ask yourself: am I good enough?

Screen Shot 2017-11-12 at 10.37.59 PM

“But I think talent as a writer is hard-wired in, it’s all there, at least the basic elements of it. You can’t change it any more than you can choose whether to be right handed or left handed.” Stephen King

We spend our whole lives always chasing something, always telling ourselves we’re not good enough. But is it really true? I think major accomplishments in this world have been made by people who never believed they were good enough but sucked up the fear and did it anyway.

I’ve been writing as long as I can remember. When my sister Cathie turned 21, I wrote a poem for her and superimposed it on a beautiful photo I’d taken of her. I had it placed on a wooden plaque because that was the style “in those days.” I know she still has it, hopefully hanging on a wall where she can be reminded that I love her.

“The most important things are the hardest things to say. They are the things you get ashamed of because words diminish your feelings–words shrink things that seem timeless when they are in your head to no more than living size when they are brought out.” Stephen King

My sister also typed my first handwritten manuscript for me. I lived in Montreal and I’d send chapters to her in Ottawa. Then she’d call me up and ask me when the next one was coming. She couldn’t wait to find out what was happening next! My sister was my first reader 40 years ago. And today, she was the first person I told when it was announced that I’d won this amazing award!

Best in Contemporary Fiction 2017 Blog Talk Radio Club for TARGET in the SUN. Without her love and encouragement so many years ago, I know I would have thought I wasn’t good enough to continue writing.

“Talent is cheaper than table salt. What separates the talented individual from the successful one is a lot of hard work.” Stephen King

I went on to have a successful career in design, fashion, sales, and management. But through the years, I continued writing. It wasn’t until an author friend, Russell Blake, invited me to participate in his JET Kindle Worlds, that my desire to write and entertain overcame my fear of failure. I published my first novella JET-Exposed–now there are 4–for Kindle Worlds in 2015. And I haven’t stopped publishing novellas, novels, and non-fiction, since then.

This year I finally published a memoir of a life-changing period in my life called LOVE The Beat Goes On. It was chosen for Book of the Month in October 2017; and more importantly touched hearts, and been as much a healing journey for me as for the many readers who’ve contacted me and shared their personal stories.

“You cannot hope to sweep someone else away by the force of your writing until it has been done to you.” Stephen King

TARGET in the SUN, VANISHED in the SUN, LOVE The Beat Goes On and my soon to be released Lie to Me, an exposé on sex for money all taught me one thing: if there are no paragraphs or pages in my books that bring tears to my eyes or take my breath away, then my writing is not good enough.

That will always be my promise to you, my readers, and will continue to be what motivates me to let my little light shine.

 

9 thoughts on “Do you ask yourself: am I good enough?

  1. Julxrp says:

    Powerful quotes by Stephen King.
    For me, a good writer is someone who draws you into the pages and transfers his/her passions to the reader. I agree… It is the constant self evaluation that instills us the desire to excel at our endeavours. Greatness is not achieved through the results & glory of one’s accomplishments. But through the tiny victories of a persevering soul.

    Like

  2. ... says:

    First. Congratulation on your book.
    Second. How great is to have so beautiful support from a sibling.
    It is a bigger understanding because of the same blood. Don’t you think?
    And one more. Am I good enough?
    If I look from my perspective I do stand for who I am. If someone look at me from the side, probable I will not be good enough for him, for surrounding matter… then again I will look at me by myself and I am Good Enough as a human be.
    I try to remember, I do have only one life to live.

    Like

Leave a Reply

